City announces official results of 2018 municipal election - City announces official results of 2018 municipal election

Nested Applications


Content - General - Stay Connected

Stay Connected

City Matters
City News
City News

Asset Publisher

null City announces official results of 2018 municipal election

October 25, 2018 –

This year 34,526 – or 41.30 per cent of eligible electors – voted in the municipal election.  Below are the official results. More detail on these results can be found at

In Kingston, nearly 13,000 people voted online, 4,000 more than the approximately 9,000 who voted online in 2014.

"We saw an 38.8 per cent increase in participation on Advance Voting Day and online voting increased by 38.4 per cent over 2014," says John Bolognone, city clerk and returning officer.

Ballot Question

Are you in favour of using Ranked Ballot Voting to elect the Mayor and District Councillors in the City of Kingston?

  • Yes – 20,642 or 63 per cent
  • No – 12,161 or 37 per cent

As less than 50 per cent of the electorate voted, these results are not binding on the new council. 


  • Bryan Paterson elected.

City Councillors

  • Countryside District #1 – Gary Oosterhof elected.
  • Loyalist-Cataraqui District #2 – Simon Chapelle elected.
  • Collins-Bayridge District #3 – Lisa Osanic elected.
  • Lakeside District #4 – Wayne Hill elected.
  • Portsmouth District #5 – Bridget Doherty elected.
  • Trillium District #6 – Robert Kiley elected.
  • Kingscourt-Rideau District #7 – Mary Rita Holland elected.
  • Meadowbrook-Strathcona District #8 – Jeff McLaren elected.
  • Williamsville District #9 – Jim Neill elected.
  • Sydenham District #10 – Peter Stroud elected.
  • King's Town District #11 – Rob Hutchison elected.
  • Pittsburgh District #12 – Ryan Boehme acclaimed.

English Language Public School Board Trustees

  • Countryside, Pittsburgh & Frontenac Islands – Bob Godkin elected.
  • Loyalist-Cataraqui, Collins-Bayridge & Lakeside – Judith Brown elected.
  • Portsmouth, Trillium & Meadowbrook-Strathcona – Garrett Elliott elected.
  • Williamsville & Sydenham – Joy Morning elected.
  • Kingscourt-Rideau & King's Town – Tom Gingrich acclaimed.

English Language Separate School Board Trustee Algonquin & Lakeshore Catholic District School Board

  • Brian Evoy, Michael Murphy, Terry Shea and Kathy Turkington elected.

French Language Public School Boad Trustee/Conseillère Scolaire Du Conseil Des Écoles Publiques De Langue Française Le Conseil des écoles publiques de l'Est de l'Ontario – région géographique 2

  • Rachel Laforest est élue par acclamation.

French Language Separate School Board Trustee/Conseiller Scolaire Du Conseil Des Écoles Séparées De Langue Française Le Conseil des écoles catholiques du Centre-Est 

  • Michel Charron est élu.