The City has won a 2015 FCM Sustainable Communities Brownfield Award - The City has won a 2015 FCM Sustainable Communities Brownfield Award

Nested Applications


Content - General - Stay Connected

Stay Connected

City Matters
City News
City News

Asset Publisher

null The City has won a 2015 FCM Sustainable Communities Brownfield Award

November 17, 2014 -

The City has won a 2015 FCM Sustainable Communities Brownfield Award for the Groundwater Remediation Project in Emma Martin Park.

Partnership and community engagement is key for 2015 FCM Sustainable Communities Award Winners

Ottawa, ON — The Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) today announced the winners of its 2015 Sustainable Communities Awards, recognizing innovation and excellence in municipal sustainable development in six categories: brownfields, energy, neighbourhood development, transportation, waste and water. This year's winning initiatives all share a focus on partnerships and community engagement to ensure environmental, economic and social benefits.

"Together, this year's winning communities stand out as leading examples of how citizens, stakeholders and municipal councils can work together on a range of sustainability initiatives," said Brad Woodside, FCM President and Mayor of City of Fredericton, NB.

"It's one thing to have a vision for a sustainable project — it's quite another to engage citizens, stakeholders and council in making it a reality. As FCM President, I have been across this country and met municipal officials and citizens from the smallest towns to the largest cities, from remote northern areas, to rural coastal villages, to bustling urban centres. These award-winning projects are inspiring for all community leaders, and they demonstrate that municipalities are on the frontlines in facing environmental challenges."

The nine winners and one honourable mention will be formally recognized at a special ceremony and in workshops planned for the FCM Sustainable Communities Conference (SCC), taking place February 10–12, 2015, in London, ON. They will also be showcased over the coming months through case studies, videos, and as part of FCM's free webinars. Since 2000, the Awards program has provided national recognition for 140 winners.

"Through its Awards program, the SCC, and Green Municipal Fund program activities, FCM offers valuable resources to help communities build local capacity to invest in sustainable infrastructure," said Raymond Louie, Chair of the Green Municipal Fund Council and Councillor for the City of Vancouver, BC. "I encourage elected municipal officials and municipal staff, as well as their private-sector partners and other collaborators to come to the SCC, meet the award winners in person and learn from them directly."

The 2015 FCM Sustainable Communities Awards winners are:

* Indicates initiatives supported through GMF. See project summaries on our website.

Brownfields (Plan)

  • City of Langley, BC - Brownfield Redevelopment Strategy

Brownfields (Project)

  • City of Kingston, ON - Groundwater Remediation Project — Emma Martin Park

Energy (Plan)

  • City of Surrey, BC - Community Climate Action Strategy*

Energy (Program)

  • Halifax Regional Municipality, NS - Solar City*

Neighbourhood Development (Plan)

  • Borough of Saint-Laurent, Montréal, QC "Bois-Franc TOD" Plan

Transportation (Project)

  • City of Ottawa, ON - Laurier Avenue Segregated Bike Lane Project

Waste (Program)

  • City of Whitehorse, YK - Solid Waste Action Plan Implementation

Waste (Program)

  • Town of Cape St. George, NL - Small Town Waste Reduction and Recycling


  • Town of Okotoks, AB - Water Conservation, Efficiency and Productivity Plan Programs

2015 Sustainable Awards — Honourable Mention

Neighbourhood Development Plan

  • City of Richmond, BC - City Centre Community Area Plan

For additional background information, please see the award category descriptions and eligibility criteria.


For more information or to arrange an interview, please contact: Maurice Gingues, media relations officer, 613-907-6399,

FCM has been the national voice of municipal governments since 1901. It fosters the development of sustainable communities to improve quality of life by promoting strong, effective and accountable municipal government.